Advertising · CAP 105-04 · Communications · Marketing · Promotions

Brand Yourself

BrandYourself.com is an excellent tool to help future employers or clients find you through simple Google search. By creating a free account, the site analyzes how you look when you are Googled. The first 10 pages of your Google search (your name) where you are given the option to rate the search by clicking Negative, Positive, or Not Me. After going through various steps, the website gives you a letter grade based on how good you look on the first page of Google. If your grade is not very high you can increase your grade by “Boosting” your social media accounts, blogs, websites, etc. so they show up first when searched.

Now I know you must be dying to know what my grade is…well after boosting as much as possible I ended with a very exciting F.

Let me explain before you get all confused on why I just promoted this website when I ended up failing. Georgia Madison is a somewhat unique name. I stated before in my Keyword post that my name is often the used for various roads, cities, and obviously a state. Googling ‘Georgia Madison’ will lead you too 10+ pages on the city of Madison, Georgia.Screen Shot 2015-02-22 at 2.24.41 PMIn a few weeks, I will revisit the BrandYourself website to see if my search results have increased along with the grade I received.

6 thoughts on “Brand Yourself

  1. Don’t feel bad about your grade at all! My grade was bad too and it seem we had a similar problem, there is another Andrea Mikolon in the world and she is a very well published doctor. So I had to comet with her and almost all of the 99 Google searches where of her. I have a feeling she knows about the BrandYourself.com as well.
    Great Blog post by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! Thats really interesting sharing a name with a city! I think this could actually be a good opportunity for you in a way, if someone comes across you instead of the city! Very good post, great voice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

