Public Relations

Reflecting on CAP 220

At the beginning of the semester, I was intimidated. Being a sophomore my schedule mostly consisted of gen eds and the only other class I had really had for my major of Advertising/Public Relations was CAP 115. That being said, I was still excited. Being and Advertising emphasis I was really looking forward to understanding PR a little more; mainly because everyone would always ask me what it was and I never really knew what to tell them. Throughout the semester this class has had me on a roller coaster of ups and downs. There were many occasions of frustration and confusion. But overall, I really enjoyed the subject of the class and looking back, it was definitely my favorite of the semester.

Just like everyone else, the packet of information involving the planbook scared me. It was a lot to take on all at once. However, at the same time I was also intrigued because we were actually doing what PR professionals do everyday. Along with learning about what Public Relations really meant, we were able to apply it to a real life situation. Not just something made up. Walking out of this class made me feel prepared for what I want to do with my career than any other class I have taken before.

Looking at my completed campaign planbook, I feel so accomplished. After revisiting my first drafts, I realized that I came a long way in writing skills along with a better understanding of how to help the Knowledge Market. That first draft was a lot of random ideas and thoughts put down on paper without any organization to it. Now, it all flows and the objectives, strategies, and tactics could actually be implemented.

I’ll be looking forward to seeing the feedback on this semester long project because I know I still have more learning to do. If I could give any advice to my younger self three months ago it would be to not freak out, don’t be shy to ask questions and don’t be afraid to fail the first time around. The most important thing I have learned this semester in CAP 220 is that I’m so glad I picked the right major for me and I can’t wait to move forward.

Oh and Adrienne Wallace was as awesome as people said before I even signed up for the class.

Leave a Reply

